HomeTN eCampus FacultyDeveloper Support and InformationCourse Clean Out Procedures

7.3. Course Clean Out Procedures

Course Clean Out Procedures

In some circumstances, it is necessary to remove all elements of a course back to the basic shell. This document serves as a checklist. Following the steps in order will ensure complete removal and save steps. For example, grades cannot be removed until associated items like discussions and quizzes have been removed.

Announcements

Select Announcements on the course homepage. The announcements page will open. Choose the Select All (top checkbox). This will select all checkboxes at one time. Select Delete to remove all visible announcements. If there is more than one page of announcements, the screen will refresh and display the next page. Repeat until all items are deleted.

Cascading images of homepage with arrow pointing from Announcements to check all check box in the announcements list. All items checked and Delete is highlighted.

*Please note: for very long lists, the setting to display up to 200 items per page (located at the bottom of the page) can be used to reduce steps. This applies to other tools discussed in this tutorial as well.

Drop down menu expanded to 200 per page.

Confirm the deletion by choosing Yes. The announcements page will display a message when all are deleted.

Cascading images with Yes highlighted and an arrow pointing to the announcement.

Content

Open Content from the NavBar. Select the Table of Contents module at the top of the content listings. From the Table of Contents menu, select Delete All Modules.

Content highlighted with an arrow pointing to Table of Contents. TOC menu expanded to delete all modules..

It is critical to choose Permanently delete all modules, topics, and all associated files and activities from the course. The other option does not remove all files.

Permanently delete all modules highlighted.

Discussions

Open Discussions from the NavBar. Open the More Actions menu and choose Delete.

More Actions menu expanded to Delete.

Choose the Select All check box, which will check all forums and topics. Select Delete to complete the task.

All items selected has a checkmark. All items below are checked.

Quizzes

Open Quizzes from the NavBar. Choose the Select All check box. From the More Actions menu, select Delete. In the confirmation window, select Delete.

All items selected through the top check box. Delete highlighted.

Choose the Question Library after deleting all quizzes. Choose the Select All checkbox and then select Delete. Repeat these steps until all questions are removed. 

Cascading windows highlighting Question Libary with an arrow pointing to check all check box.

*Please note: for very long lists, the setting to display up to 200 items per page (located at the bottom of the page) can be used to reduce steps. This applies to other tools discussed in this tutorial as well.


Assignments

Open Assignments from the NavBar. Select the Select All checkbox. Choose Delete from the More Actions menu. Select Delete in the confirmation window.

Cascading windows with all items checked. Delete is highlighted.

Grades

Open Grades from the NavBar and select Manage Grades.

*Please note: before taking any further action, check the Association column. A grade item cannot be deleted if it is associated with an activity. To delete a grade item associated with an activity, leave Grades, and open the specific tool to make changes either remove the association or delete the activity item. (Delete is the preference for this process.) 

Choose Delete from the More Actions menu if all associations are removed.

Grades open to Managed Grades. Delete selected with the Association column highlighted.

In other tools it is necessary to check Select All items first, but for grades, items are checked after choosing Delete.

All items selected with Delete and confirmation highlighted.

Surveys

Open Surveys from the NavBar and select Delete from the More Actions menu.

Surveys opened to Managed Surveys. Delete selected. Items not checked.

As with grades, it is not necessary to select items before choosing Delete.  Choose the Select All checkbox after choosing Delete. Choose Yes in the confirmation window.

Cascading windows with all items checked. Delete highlighted and confirmed.

Course Files

Open Course Admin from the NavBar or open More if the screen is not full-sized. Select Manage Files from the tools list.

Course Admin open with Manage Files highlighted.

Choose the Select All check box. Select the Trash icon. Confirm Yes in the next window.

All items checked and yes confirms the deletion.

Calendar

Open Content from the Navbar. (It might seem logical to start with Calendar, but items cannot be removed here. Additionally, past and future events require more effort to view. There may be more than one calendar available as well.)

Red X across image indicating not to choose calendar.

Select Course Schedule and then Full Schedule.

Content open with Course Schedule highlighted. Arrow points to Full Schedule.

Any manually entered calendar dates will be displayed. These must be removed one by one as there is no way to bulk delete them. If nothing is displayed, then the calendar is empty. Select Delete Event from the item menu.

Full Schedule open with arrow pointing to menu. Delete Event highlighted.

Choose Yes to confirm. Repeat steps until all entries have been deleted.

Yes highlighted for confirmation

Checklist

Starting from Course Admin, open Checklist. Select More Actions and choose Delete.

Checklist expanded. More Actions expanded to reveal Delete.

Choose the first checkbox to select all items. Choose Delete Selected.

All checklists checked and highlighted to Delete Selected.

Groups

Open Course Admin from the Navbar. Select Groups from the list of tools.

Course Admin selected and expanded. Groups is highlighted from the list.

Choose the Select All checkbox. Select the Trash icon. Select Delete Groups/Categories from the confirmation window.

Manage Groups expanded with checkboxes selected for each and Delete highlighted.

Rubrics

Open Course Admin from the Navbar. Select Rubrics from the list of tools.

Course Admin open with Rubrics highlighted.

Choose the Select All checkbox. Select the Trash icon. Select Delete in the confirmation window.

All items selected. Delete highlighted.

Wrapping Up

If you have worked through the list to this point you have tackled the most likely areas to clean up. This image highlights some additional tools you may have used in the course. If so, open each to select and delete any remaining objects.

The remaining tools highlighted are Competencies, Intelligent Agents, Self Assessments, FAQ's, Awards and Chat.

Following all of these steps will return a course to the initial shell status. It is a good idea to make a quick review of the tools from the NavBar and Course Files to be sure all items are removed.

Knowledge Tags
Course  / 

This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful